Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

In July of 1965, the Johnson Administration passed the Social Security Act which then created the Social Security Administration, MedicareMedicaid CMS is based in Woodlawn, Maryland but has 10 regional offices to coordinate the programs that CMS oversees. These regional offices are located in Boston, New York, Philadelphia, Atlanta, Chicago, Dallas, Kansas City, Denver, San Francisco, and Seattle. The CMS offices in these major cities monitor the operations of the Medicare and Medicaid programs in their designated jurisdictions. These regional offices are also governed by a consortium located in four of the aforementioned major cities. 

         The Consortium for Medicare Health Plans Operations (CMHPO) is located in New York. 

         The Consortium for Financial Management and Fee for Service Operations (CFMFFSO) is located in Kansas City. 

         The Consortium for Medicaid and Children's Health Operations (CMCHO) is located in Chicago.

         The Consortium for Quality Improvement and Survey & Certificate Operations (CQISCO) is located in Dallas.

The five objectives of the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services and its regional offices, as noted in the CMS Strategic Plan 2008-2012, are as follows:

     "Skilled, Committed, and Highly Motivated Workforce;

    Affordable Health Care System;

     High Value Health Care;

    Confident, Informed Consumers;

     and, Collaborative Partnerships."

The Medicare program, as administered by CMS, offers health insurance for eligible United States aged 65 and older as well as the disabled. The program and its provisions are divided into four main parts, Part A, Part B, Part C, and Part D. In order to receive Medicare benefits, the applicant must have paid Medicare taxes and worked for a minimum of 10 years in order to be eligible as well. If an employer offers Medicare as a part of its benefits package, the employer shares the tax fees to be paid for Medicare coverage. Part A of the Medicare program covers hospital insurance. Part B covers medical care. Part C covers Medicare Advantage plans. Part D covers prescription medication plans.

The Medicaid program is governed by the Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services but is administered through local state agencies. The program is a form of social welfare and is intended for provide medical coverage for those with limited financial resources and special needs. Being impoverished does not guarantee Medicaid eligibility as local CMS offices and state Medicaid agencies review each application to ensure that those that need care do receive it. Many states pay for a portion or all of the cost of Medicaid benefits for certain applicants. The Center for Medicare and Medicaid Services then uses a formula to match a percentage of the monies paid out by state agencies toward Medicaid insurance.

Though both programs appear to be similar, they differ in how they are funded and who they are intended to be beneficiaries of provided medical coverage.




Related Articles